

MINUTES OF THE TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, April 14, 2022 10:00 a.m. Zoom/2nd Floor Community Room Rapid City, South Dakota

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kip Harrington and Kelly Brennan – Rapid City Department of Community Development, Sarah Gilkerson – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Marlo Kapsa – Rapid City Department of Community Development, Dale Pfeifle – Rapid City Public Works Department, Mayor Phil Anderson –City of Piedmont, Megan Gould – Rapid Transit Manager, Sara Odden – Rapid City Public Works Department, Monte Meier and Jack Dokken – South Dakota Department of Air, Rail and Transit, Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department and Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department

MEMBERS ABSENT: Chris Deitz – Rapid City Regional Airport, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Ryan Phillips – Rapid City Police Department, Steve Frooman – Rapid City Public Works Department, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Kumar Veluswamy – Rapid City School District, Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, Sean Smith – Pennington County Highway Department, Britney Molitor – Pennington County Planning Department, Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Mayor Melanie Torno – City of Summerset, Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base, Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway, Michelle Clavadetscher – City of Box Elder Planning Department and Kevin Case – Douglas School District

OTHERS PRESENT: Melissa Karpo – Rapid City Department of Community Development, Mark Hoines – Federal Highway Administration, Lori Schumacher and Christopher Mason – Box Elder Public Works Department and Lauralee Patton – Box Elder Planning and Zoning

Chairman Harrington called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Meeting quorum was met.

General Public Comment

No General Public Comment.

Business

Gilkerson moved, Odden seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the December 16, 2021 and February 17, 2022 meetings.

22TP002 – Approve the 2022 Rapid City Transit Development Plan – Final Report.

As a department of the City of Rapid City, Rapid Transit System (RTS) offers fixed route bus service and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) complementary paratransit within city limits. Fixed-route service has been branded as Rapid Ride and paratransit as Diala-Ride. In 2019, Rapid Ride provided more than 400,000 passenger trips and Dial-a-Ride approximately 78,000 trips, using a fleet of 37 buses. Since the initiation of the



Youth Ride Free Campaign in 2016, a substantial number of trips have served youth under 18 – amounting to more than 340,000 in total. RTS and the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (RCAMPO) developed this Transit Development Plan (TDP) to provide strategic guidance for a sustainable transit system to serve the community. The TDP will also serve as the basis for the transit element of the regional transportation plan. The overall desired outcome for the TDP is to provide a public transit system that offers travel options to residents, employees and visitors who cannot or choose not to drive. Brennan Reviewed this plan and any the changes from the Draft Report that will show in the Final Report.

Dokken moved, Kapsa seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2022 Rapid City Transit Development Plan – Final Report.

22TP007 – Approve the Section 5310 Award Recommendation. The Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) receives federal funds on a yearly basis as part of the Federal Transit Administration's Section 5310 program to provide capital assistance to elderly persons and/or persons with disabilities. The Rapid City Area MPO solicited applications from entities throughout the region regarding assistance with vehicles and/or operating costs. Funding is provided as an 80/20 split for capital costs and as a 50/50 split for operating costs. Two organizations submitted applications for review. Brennan reviewed the recommendation to award Black Hills Works \$80,000 and Prairie Hills Transit \$53,600 in Section 5310 funds for the purchase of transit style buses. Discussion ensued.

Dokken moved, Gould seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Section 5310 Award Recommendation.

22TP010 – Approve the 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #22-003. Harrington reviewed the Amendment #22-003 to the 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program that adds funding for the development of the State Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan. Gilkerson and Hoines provided additional information. Discussion ensued.

Odden moved, Pfeifle seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #22-003.

22TP011 – Acknowledge the 2022-2025 Transportation Improvemewnt Program #22-003A. Harrington reviewed Amendment #22-003A to the 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program which adds a Bridge Improvement Grant (BIG) project to perform structure preservation work on the Neck Yoke Road bridge over Spring Creek.

No action was taken on this item.

Update on Construction Projects

Gilkerson provided information on Rapid City's construction projects. Odden provided information on the current construction projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Kaufman provided additional upcoming projects for the Box Elder area.



Update on Planning Projects

Harrington provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:27 a.m.