MINUTES OF THE

TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, September 13, 2018 10:00 a.m.

Council Chambers City/School Administration Center Rapid City, South Dakota

MEMBERS PRESENT: Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer, Sara Odden – Rapid City Public Works Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Community Development Department, Bill Welk – Pennington County Highway Department, Rich Sagen – Rapid Transit Manager, Kip Harrington – Rapid City Community Development, Brad Remmich – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator, Beau Fraser – Pennington County Highway, Sgt. Wayne Asscherick – Rapid City Police Department, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation

MEMBERS ABSENT: Patsy Horton – Rapid City Community Development Department, Chief Deputy Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, PJ Connover – Pennington County Planning Department, Doug Curry – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Lisa Donner – SD Department of Transportation, Peter Haugh – Douglas School District, Ron Koan – City of Box Elder Planning Department, Mayor George Mandas – City of Summerset, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Lincoln Shuck – Meade County Highway, Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway, Tom Wilsey – Pennington County Highway Department, Mayor Steve Heilman – City of Piedmont, Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Ted Johnson – Rapid City Public Works Department, Cathy Bock – Rapid City Police Department, Kirk Chaffee – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department

OTHERS PRESENT: Kelly Brennan and Melissa Bloomberg – Rapid City Community Development, Megan Gould – Rapid Transit, Mark Hoines – Federal Highway Administration

Vice-Chairperson Harrington called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

General Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

Business

Fisher moved, Sagen seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the August 16, 2018 meeting with corrections to the members listed.

18TP028 – **Approve the 2019 Unified Planning Work Progam – Draft Report.** Harrington reviewed the 2019 Unified Planning Work Program that includes annual activities, planning studies, and products to be developed by the Metropolitan Planning Organization for 2019 and also identifies funding and staffing for conducting these tasks.

Remmich moved, Sagen seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2019 Unified Planning work Program – Draft Report.

18TP032 – Approve Amendment #2019-001 to the 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Progam. Harrington reviewed Amendment #2019-001 to the 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program where the South Dakota Department of Transportation has identified

additional preservation and safety needs to be programmed with funding available in Fiscal Year 2019. Remmich gave additional information on funding. Discussion ensued.

Asscherick joined the meeting.

Remmich moved, Frooman seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve Amendment #2019-001 to the 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program.

Update on Construction Projects

Remmich provided information on the current construction projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Odden provided additional updates.

Welk joined the meeting.

Update on Planning Projects

Harrington and Brennan provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Discussion ensued.

Introduction to Megan Gould.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:18 a.m.