MINUTES OF THE TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, February 15, 2018 10:00 a.m. Council Chambers City/School Administration Center Rapid City, South Dakota

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sgt. Wayne Asscherick – Rapid City Police Department, Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer, Kip Harrington – Rapid City Community Development Department, Patsy Horton – Rapid City Community Development Department, Todd Peckosh – Rapid City Public Works Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Community Development Department and Mike Carlson – South Dakota Department of Transportation

MEMBERS ABSENT: Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department, Lt. Dustin Morrison – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Brad Remmich – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Rich Sagen – Rapid City Transit Manager and Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator, Mayor Phil Anderson – City of Piedmont, , Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, Kirk Chaffee – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, PJ Conover – Pennington County Planning Department, Doug Curry – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base, Beau Fraser – Pennington County Highway Department, Peter Haugh – Douglas School District, Ron Koan – City of Box Elder Planning Department, Mayor George Mandas – City of Summerset, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Lincoln Shuck – Meade County Highway and Dale Tech – Rapid City Public Works Department and Bill Welk – Pennington County Highway Department

STAFF PRESENT: Kelly Brennan – Rapid City Community Development Department

OTHERS PRESENT: Mark Hoines – Federal Highway Administration

Chairperson Horton called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

General Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

Business (committee quorum was not present)

Fisher moved, Peckosh seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the December 14, 2017 meeting.

18TP002 – **Acknowledge the 2017 Traffic Count Book.** Brennan reviewed highlights from the 2017 Traffic Count Book.

Fisher moved, Frooman seconded and motion carried unanimously to recommend acknowledging the 2017 Traffic Count Book.

18TP003 – **Approve the 2017 Annual Report.** Horton reviewed the draft report that describes staff activities throughout 2017 undertaken to move transportation planning forward within the MPO area, as well as the associated expenditures for those activities. She recommended that the Committee continue the item to the April 12, 2018, committee meeting.



Fisher moved, Peckosh seconded and motion carried unanimously to continue the 2017 Annual Report to the April 12, 2018 meeting.

18TP006 – **Approve the I-90 Exit 61 to Exit 67 Corridor Study Final Report.** Harrington reviewed the need for the study in order to identify feasible options to bring the obsolete interchange at Exit 63 into compliance with federal highway design standards. The recommendations also include expansion needs. He further reviewed the three design options recommended for consideration.

Peckosh moved, Asscherick seconded and motion carried unanimously recommending approval of the I-90 Exit 61 to Exit 67 Corridor Study Final Report.

18TP007 – Approve the Coordinated Transit – Human Services Transportation Plan – Public Participation Plan Worksheet. Brennan reviewed the recommendations identified to engage the public during the update of the Coordinated Transit – Human Services Transportation Plan as identified on the Public Participation Plan Worksheet.

Fisher moved, Peckosh seconded and motion carried 6-1 to recommend approving the Coordinated Transit – Human Services Transportation Plan Public Participation Plan Worksheet. (Fisher, Peckosh, Asscherick, Horton, Harrington and Carlson voting aye and Frooman voting no.)

18TP008 – Approve the 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment 18-002. Harrington reviewed the additional safety performance measures language added to the TIP to bring the MPO's TIP into compliance with the FAST Act.

Fisher moved, Asscherick seconded and motion carried unanimously to recommend approving the 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #18-002.

18TP009 – Approve the 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment 18-001A. Harrington reviewed the additional funding added to complete safety improvements located outside the MPO area.

Frooman moved, Asscherick seconded and motion carried unanimously to acknowledge the 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #18-001A.

Harrington reviewed the <u>Safe Travel for Every Pedestrian</u> Guide developed to assist communities statewide. Discussion followed regarding resource and implementation options as well as recommending removal of the rectangular rapid flash option because of its exclusion from the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices.

Update on Construction Projects

Carlson provided information on the current construction projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Discussion ensued.

Update on Planning Projects

Harrington and Brennan provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:29 a.m.