

MINUTES OF THE

TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, June 14, 2018 10:00 a.m.

Council Chambers
City/School Administration Center
Rapid City, South Dakota

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sgt. Wayne Asscherick – Rapid City Police Department, Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer, Patsy Horton – Rapid City Community Development Department, Todd Peckosh – Rapid City Public Works Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Community Development Department, Beau Fraser – Pennington County Highway, Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Rich Sagen – Rapid Transit Manager, Bill Welk – Pennington County Highway Department, Kip Harrington –Rapid City Community Development, Mayor Phil Anderson – City of Piedmont, Ted Johnson – Rapid City Public Works Department.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Chief Deputy Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, Kirk Chaffee – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, PJ Connover – Pennington County Planning Department, Doug Curry – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Lisa Donner – SD Department of Transportation, Peter Haugh – Douglas School District, Ron Koan – City of Box Elder Planning Department, Mayor George Mandas – City of Summerset, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Lincoln Shuck – Meade County Highway, Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department, Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway, Tom Wilsey – Pennington County Highway Department, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation.

OTHERS PRESENT: Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation.

Chairperson Horton called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

General Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

Business

Fisher moved, Sagen seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the April 12, 2018 meeting.

18TP020 – Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Self Certification. Harrington reviewed the Self Certification that is required for the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization to demonstrate and resolve that its transportation planning process is addressing the major issues in the metropolitan planning area and the process is conducted in accordance with all applicable requirements.

Eben moved, Asscherick seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Self Certification.

18TP021 – 2019-2022 Rapid City Area Transportation Improvement Program – Draft Report. Harrington reviewed the 2019-2022 Rapid City Area Transportation Improvement Program Draft Report that is a four year construction priority list and financial plan and assists state and local agencies in matching transportation needs with resources. Discussion ensued.



Eben moved, Welk seconded and motion carries to approve the 2019-2022 Rapid City Area Transportation Improvement Program – Draft Report with Anderson voting no.

18TP022 – Approve the Rapid City Railroad Quiet Zone Draft Report. Harrington presented the Rapid City Railroad Quiet Zone Draft Report that identifies options to improve safety and minimize the impacts of train horn noise at multiple railroad crossings in the downtown Rapid City area. Discussion ensued.

Frooman moved, Eben seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Rapid City Railroad Quiet Zone Report.

Update on Construction Projects

Bartlett provided information on the current construction projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Johnson provide additional updates.

Update on Planning Projects

Harrington provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:33 a.m.