MINUTES OF THE TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, September 14, 2017 10:00 a.m. Council Chambers City/School Administration Center Rapid City, South Dakota

DRAFT

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sgt. Wayne Asscherick – Rapid City Police Department, Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base, Beau Fraser – Pennington County Highway Department, Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer, Kip Harrington – Rapid City Community Planning and Development Services, Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department, Todd Peckosh – Rapid City Public Works Department Engineer, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Rich Sagen – Rapid City Transit Manager and Bill Welk – Pennington County Highway Department

MEMBERS ABSENT: Mayor Phil Anderson – City of Piedmont, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, Kirk Chaffee – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, PJ Conover – Pennington County Planning Department, Doug Curry – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Community Planning, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator, Peter Haugh – Douglas School District, Patsy Horton – Rapid City Community Planning and Development Services, Ron Koan – City of Box Elder Planning Department, Mayor George Mandas – City of Summerset, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, , Lt. Dustin Morrison – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Brad Remmich – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Lincoln Shuck – Meade County Highway, Dale Tech – Rapid City Public Works Department and Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway

STAFF PRESENT: Katie Parker – Rapid City Community Planning and Development Services

OTHERS PRESENT: Lyle DeVries and Todd Frisbie – Felsburg Holt & Ullevig and Tessa Thomas – Black Hills Fox News

Vice Chairperson Harrington called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

General Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF AUGUST 14, 2017 MEETING

Rich moved, Frooman seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the August 14, 2017 meeting.

17TP018 – Approve the 2018 Unified Planning Work Program – Final. Harrington reviewed this document that includes the annual activities, planning studies, and products to be developed by the Metropolitan Planning Organization for 2018 with the committee. Harrington also stated that the Unified Planning Work Program also identifies funding and staffing for conducting these tasks.

Sagen moved, Peckosh seconded and motion carried unanimously to recommend approving the Unified Planning Work Program – Final.

17TP019 – Approve the Railroad Quiet Zone Study Public Participation Plan. Harrington informed the committee of the plan to generate ideas and build support by engaging residents, businesses, elected officials and other stakeholders throughout the community for this study.

Kaufman moved, Rich seconded and motion carried unanimously to recommend approving the Railroad Quiet Zone Study Public Participation Plan.

17TP020 – Approve the Cambell Street/East North Corridor Study Public Participation **Plan.** Harrington advised of the plan to generate ideas and build support by engaging residents, businesses, elected officials and other stakeholders throughout the community for this study.

Eben moved, Sagen seconded and motion carried unanimously to recommend approving the Cambell Street/East North Corridor Study Public Participation Plan.

17TP021 – Approve Resolution #2017-01: A Minor Update to the RapidTRIP 2040 Long Range Transportation Plan. Harrington reminded the committee that in December 2015, President Obama signed the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act (FAST Act) into law. Harrington further stated that in order to comply with FAST Act, the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization desires to amend the RapidTRIP 2040 Long Range Transportation Plan to support the Safety Performance Measures and Transit Asset Management Goals established by SDDOT.

Frooman moved, Rich seconded and motion carried unanimously to recommend approving Resolution #2017-01: A Minor Update to the RapidTRIP 2040 Long Range Transportation Plan.

Update on Construction Projects

Harrington provided information on the current construction projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

Update on Planning Projects

Harrington informed the committee that Ken Young has been hired as the director of the Community Planning and Development Services Department. Young will start on September 25.

Harrington provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

DeVries and Frisbie gave a brief presentation on the I-90 Corridor Exit 61 to Exit 67 Corridor Study.

In response to a question from Frooman, DeVries responded that this study is not an Interchange Modification Justification Report.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 10:28 a.m.