

### MINUTES OF THE

# TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, December 13, 2018 10:00 a.m. Council Chambers City/School Administration Center Rapid City, South Dakota

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer, Sara Odden – Rapid City Public Works Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Community Development Department, Bill Welk – Pennington County Highway Department, Megan Gould – Rapid Transit Manager, Kip Harrington – Rapid City Community Development, Brad Remmich – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department, Beau Fraser – Pennington County Highway, Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway, Lt. Cathy Bock – Rapid City Police Department, Ted Johnson – Rapid City Public Works Department, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Chief Deputy Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, PJ Conover – Pennington County Planning Department, Doug Curry – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Lisa Donner – SD Department of Transportation, Peter Haugh – Douglas School District, Ron Koan – City of Box Elder Planning Department, Mayor George Mandas – City of Summerset, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Lincoln Shuck – Meade County Highway, Tom Wilsey – Pennington County Highway Department, Kirk Chaffee – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Patsy Horton – Rapid City Community Development Department, Mayor Steve Heilman – City of Piedmont, Sgt. Wayne Asscherick – Rapid City Police Department

**OTHERS PRESENT**: Kelly Brennan and Melissa Bloomberg – Rapid City Community Development, Mark Hoines – Federal Highway Administration, Jesse Nelson – South Dakota Department of Transportation

Vice-Chairperson Harrington called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

### **General Public Comment**

There was no general public comment.

### **Business**

Remmich moved, Rich seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the October 11, 2018 meeting.

**18TP037** – Approve the Fiscal Year 2018 Annual Listing of Obligated Projects. Harrington reviewed the Fiscal Year 2018 Annual Listing of Obligated Projects which must be developed each year to identify the status of transportation projects shown in the Transportation Improvement Program for fiscal year 2018.



Welk moved, Harmon seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Fiscal Year 2018 Annual Listing of Obligated Projects.

**18TP038 – Acknowledge the 2019 Transportation Products and Due Dates.** Harrington reviewed the 2019 Transportation Products and Due Dates which provides product dates as a workflow guideline for year 2019.

Rich moved, Johnson seconded and motion carried unanimously to acknowledge the 2019 Transportation Products and Due dates.

**18TP039 – Approve the 2013-2017 Coordinated Public Transit-Human Services Transportation Plan Amendment No. 1.** Brennan reviewed the 2013-2017 Coordinated Public Transit-Human Services Transportation Plan Amendment No. 1. Federal transit law requires that projects selected for Section 5310 Grant Funding be included in the Coordinated Public Transit – Human Services Transportation Plan. Shirley's Adult Day Care has been identified as a private non-profit human services provider. In order for Shirley's Adult Daycare to become eligible for Section 5310 funds, the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization desires to amend the Coordinated Public Transit – Human Services Transportation Plan to include Shirley's Adult Day Care.

Remmich moved, Harmon seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2013-2017 Coordinated Public Transit-Human Services Transportation Plan Amendment No. 1.

**18TP040** – Approve the 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #19-002. Harrington reviewed the 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #19-002 that explains a grant that South Dakota Department of Transportation received from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's Innovative Technology Deployment Program to provide Drivewyze weigh station bypass service.

Rich moved, Frooman seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #19-002.

Fisher entered the meeting.

**18TP041 – Approve the 2019 South Dakota Department of Transportation Safety Performance Measures Resolution.** Performance based transportation planning became a requirement with the adoption of the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) highway funding bill in 2012, and the requirement was carried over into the current bill, the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act (FAST Act), approved in 2015. In response to the requirement, the South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT) has developed a system of performance measures. In April 2018, the MPO opted to support the performance measures established by SDDOT. Each year, the MPO must notify the SDDOT whether the MPO chooses to establish its own performance measures or to support those established by SDDOT. Harrington reviewed the resolution that endorses the SDDOT 2019 Safety Performance Measures targets. Discussion ensued.



Harmon moved, Johnson seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2019 South Dakota Department of Transportation Safety Performance Measures Resolution.

**18TP042 – Approve the 2019 Unified Planning Work Amendment #19-01.** Harrington reviewed the 2019 Unified Planning Work Program Amendment #19-01, which adds funding for the US Highway 16 Corridor Study. The Federal Highway Administration provides 81.95% of the program funding, with 18.05% provided by the member agency.

Remmich moved, Fisher seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2019 Unified Planning Work Amendment #19-01.

# **Election Officers**

Harrington opened the nominations for Chair and Vice Chair.

Remmich moved, Rich seconded and motion carried unanimously to elect Horton as Chair.

Remmich moved, Rich seconded and motion carried unanimously to elect Harrington as Vice Chair.

Presentation on SD Department of Transportation Long Range Transportation Plan. Remmich gave a presentation on the SDDOT Long Range Transportation Plan.

# **Update on Construction Projects**

Remmich provided information on the current construction projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Harrington provided additional updates.

## **Update on Planning Projects**

Harrington and Brennan provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Odden provided additional projects.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.