MINUTES OF THE

TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, September 12, 2019 10:00 a.m.

Council Chambers
City/School Administration Center
Rapid City, South Dakota

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sara Odden – Rapid City Public Works Department, Patsy Horton – Rapid City Community Development Department, Kip Harrington – Rapid City Community Development Department, Jerry Ortbahn – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Ted Johnson – Rapid City Public Works Department, Lt. Cathy Bock – Rapid City Police Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Community Development Department, Megan Gould – Rapid Transit Manager, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Phil Anderson via proxy for Mayor Steve Heilman – City of Piedmont and Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer

MEMBERS ABSENT: Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department, , Lt. Mark Hughes – Pennington County Sheriff's Department, Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway, Chief Deputy Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, PJ Conover – Pennington County Planning Department, Doug Curry – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Lisa Donner – SD Department of Transportation, Blaise Emerson – City of Box Elder Planning Department, Jack Dokken – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Lincoln Shuck – Meade County Highway, Joseph Miller – Pennington County Highway Department, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Sgt. Wayne Asscherick – Rapid City Police Department, Bill Welk – Pennington County Highway Department, Rhea Crane – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, and Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base

OTHERS PRESENT: Melissa Bloomberg – Rapid City Community Development and Mark Hoines – Federal Highway Administration, Lyle DeVries and Jennica Wilcox - Felsburg Holt & Ullevig

Chairperson Horton called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

General Public Comment

Harrington introduced Lyle DeVries and Jennica Wilcox from Felsburg Holt & Ullevig.

Business

Fisher moved, Johnson seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the August 15, 2019 meeting.

19TP022 – Approve the **2020** Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) – Final Report. Harrington reviewed the 2020 UPWP final report. This document includes the annual activities, planning studies and products to be developed by the MPO for 2020. The UPWP also identifies funding and staffing for conducting these tasks. Gould provided

additional information in reference to the Transit Development Plan identified as a 2020 task.

Rich moved, Gould seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2020 Unified Planning Work Program – Final Report.

19TP023 – Approve the Agreement between the City of Rapid City and the South Dakota Department of Transportation for accomplishing the Rapid City Area Transportation Planning Process in the amount of \$533,684.62. Harrington reviewed the Agreement between the City of Rapid City and the South Dakota Department of Transportation to conduct the Rapid City Area Transportation Planning Process. This agreement provides federal transportation planning funds in the amount of \$533,684 to conduct activities identified in the Rapid City Area MPO's 2020 Unified Planning Work Program and authorizes the reimbursement of funds to the City of Rapid City for work identified in the 2020 Unified Planning Work Program through the Transportation Planning Budget (706), including eligible activities performed by Community Development and Public Works staff.

Rich moved, Johnson seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Agreement between the City of Rapid City and the South Dakota Department of Transportation for accomplishing the Rapid City Area Transportation Planning Process in the amount of \$533,684.62.

19TP024 – Approve the 2019 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) Amendment #19-03. Harrington reviewed the amendment to the 2019 UPWP to add funding for a Jamar Traffic Counter Software Upgrade in the amount of \$1,000. Frooman provided additional information.

Johnson moved, Fisher seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2019 Unified Planning Work Program Amendment #19-03.

Update on Construction Projects

Ortbahn provided information on the current construction projects within the MPO area. Odden and Frooman provided additional updates.

Update on Planning Projects

Harrington provided information on the current planning projects within the MPO area.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:16 a.m.